Centre Road in Mulmur – Part of the Bruce Trail

IMG_3579

The other day I found myself tightly gripping my camera as I inched downward along the narrow section of the Bruce trail.  Centre Road in Mulmur is part of the Bruce Trail and not very many people know about.   I’m  heading toward river road but it’s not even visible in the forest that surround me. But neither is the steep drop-off to the valley below, which is just around the corner.

I’m In the Dufferin Hi-Land section as it’s called.  Just 2.29 Km of the vast trail.  This part of the Bruce Trail follows the line of Hurontario Street from the south, which was the main road into the area in
IMG_3779pioneer days (boy did they have a hard life, kids today don’t really seem to know how easy they have it..LOL).  On the trail there are about 13 property owner that have cottages on the No Winter Access Road!!  BUT it’s a pleasant walk through mature, mixed hardwood forests all around.

It’s not a very challenging hike but there was lots of water that comes out of the ground in so many places that by the time you get to the bottom you have a small river flowing right next to the road. From time to time along my hike I’m beginning to wonder what I have gotten myself into as the road keeps descending downward, however I just keep going!

IMG_3780At the midway point is a bend in the road and a pilon next to a section of the road that has been washed way down into the small valley below .  With all the rain we’ve  had it’s not surprising but I keep going until the ground get’s very wet and muddy at the end. So here is now I record my “victory”  A GPS photo of my trip down and the persistent clouds, the threat of rain, the disappearing daylight and realization that this was a one way trip down.  Just the thought of reaching a summit after the long trek down the trail I came down can’t take away the satisfaction of just doing it, especially for a real estate agent that was still in his working clothes…LOL!

Who would do this?

Here are some photos along the road.

IMG_3800

IMG_3752 IMG_3756 IMG_3759 IMG_3760 IMG_3761 IMG_3766 IMG_3767 IMG_3768 IMG_3771 IMG_3775 IMG_3786 IMG_3788 IMG_3791 IMG_3792 IMG_3793



Categories: Biking, Hiking, Recreation, Trails

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

