Day 262 of 365 – Sport-Medic Physiotherapy Clinic

In 2003 I spent more than 3 months with an sports-related injury which ended in a bulged disc in my lower back, it made it very painful every time I tried to walk. I spent the better part of a week in bed and it just got worse over time. My ability to move had been restricted to the upper body, like moving my hand and head. I was certainly struggling to get to the washroom from the bed and the pain…oh the pain.  I thought it would never get better.

Before my injury, I spent a lifetime being active. During that time I typically kept free of injuries, until the back went out on me. Since my injury happened, the resulting weeks where not a time I would like to return to.  What was the sport that put me out?  Curling…LOL.  It’s a long story and if you ever run into me in Orangeville, ask and I’ll fill you in!

So today as my wife walks in to the Physiotherapists office at Sport-Medic Physiotherapy Clinic on Broadway in Orangeville to help with her neck pain, I feel very comfortable that everything would work out.  You see, Physiotherapists are licensed professionals who have completed a bachelor’s or a master’s degree and are specialized in treating various kinds of disorders, pain and injuries. They make use of various treatment procedures and dedicated physiotherapy equipments to care for their patients and bring back normal functionality at the injured site. Easily said, physiotherapists utilize prompt restorative therapy for complete recovery.

at Sport-Medic Physiotherapy Clinic they have a multi-disciplinary facility comprised of Physiotherapists, Kinesiologist’s and Physiotherapist Assistants.  They specialize in the treatment and prevention of injury through physical means.  Their clinic offers a comprehensive and effective approach to the management of musculoskeletal injuries sustained through athletic activities, at work, as a result of a motor vehicle accident, due to illness and/or diseases.

People always ask me why go for physiotherapy, when self-healing can solve my injury. Sure it is true that our body has the ability to heal on its own but many times it also requires help from physiotherapy to heal the injury at a faster rate. For instance, an back may heal naturally but it may take several weeks to restore normal functionality. With physiotherapy, normal functionality can be achieved in reasonably less time. It will also help in reducing long-term problems.

or physiotherapy and massage therapy are the same. This is wrong, physiotherapy involves various types of therapy such as heat therapy, ice therapy, acupuncture, laser therapy, manual therapy, etc. One of such component is massage therapy.

some of the services they offer include Physiotherapy, Work Hardening, Functional Abilities Evaluations, Acupuncture Treatment, Myofascial/Cranial Sacral Therapies, Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, Osteopathy, Massage Therapy

Come in if your having some issues and see what they can help with 🙂

Monday: 7:30am – 7pm
Tuesday: 7:30am – 7pm
Wednesday: 7:30am – 7pm
Thursday: 7:30am – 7pm
Friday: 7:30am – 1pm

They are located at 106 Broadway Orangeville, ON L9W 1J9 and you can reach them at 519-941-4481



Categories: Health & Well-being, Healthly Options, Shops & Services

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

